Reviews from a Virtual 2023 Sundance Film Festival (The News Lens International)

Thanks to the availability of virtual screenings and a diversity initiative, I was able to snag press accreditation at the Sundance Film Festival, which this year overlapped exactly with the Lunar New Year. This meant that the convenience of remote viewing came with the need to not disregard familial obligations, and so I was only able to watch twelve films and a few shorts. I’ve written up my reviews in four parts.

Part 1: Kim’s Video, Cat Person

Part 2: Sometimes I Think About Dying, AUM: The Cult at the End of the World

Part 3: Fremont, Slow, Shortcomings, Mutt

Part 4: Pianoforte, 5 Seasons of Revolution, Bad Press, Nam June Paik: Moon Is the Oldest TV; short films: Troy (2022), Life Without Dreams, Help Me Understand, Bigger on the Inside (2022), In the Big Yard Inside the Teeny-Weeny Pocket (2022), A Folded Ocean, Mahogany Drive (Slamdance)

Leave a comment